History Timeline

Egyptian history (the yellow bar at top in picture) is devided into 9 major parts
including 3 periods of decline (in gray). This site deals with the first four.
The colors blue and red show when, how long and by whom Egypt
had foreign rule. For the oldest eras the figures are calculated.

0) Neolitic period6000-3500 BC
1) Predynastic period3500-3100 BC
2) Early Dynastic period3100-2575 BC
3) Old Kingdom 2575-2040 BC
4) Middle Kingdom2040-1550 BC
5) New Kingdom 1550-712   BC
6) Late period712-332     BC
7) Greek period332-30       BC
8) Roman period30 BC-395 AD

All rulers from the New Kingdom and later